Give it a go

I have always really admired people who can sketch, paint and visually communicate their feelings in a creative way. Art comes in many forms and there isn’t such a thing as “bad art”. It is completely subjective and personal. One of my New Year’s resolutions is to start drawing. I will openly admit that I have never been good at drawing, but I wanted to try it out and see if I could challenge myself. I didn’t set myself unrealistic goals or high expectations. All I want to do is create one piece that I am proud of and improve my current skillset…

I bought myself some equipment (including a lovely soft leather sketchbook) and just went for it. I try and do a little bit every day, sketching people objects and my own creations. It is incredibly therapeutic and I am convinced it is good for my brain to try out something a bit different. I don’t have to be brilliant at it and I certainly don’t have to show anyone my drawings. It is just for me and I love it.

sketchbookblog1So now I am going to challenge you. Often we say “I would love to do this” or “I wish I could do that”. I think that you should just go for it. Try something that is completely out of your comfort zone. It could be as simple as learning a language or writing poetry. Even if you fail miserably, it’ll teach you more important lessons than the skill itself. Patience, perseverance and learning to not take yourself too seriously only being a few examples!

I’m hoping to keep up drawing until at least 2016 and end up with a full sketchbook.  I also want to try out other new skills and experiences because it is an excellent way to build confidence. I recommend you challenge yourself too, at least give it a go.

What do you think?

