Adulthood

At 10 years old, I used to think those at university were adults. They seemed so mature and grown up to me. But I have realised that there is a big difference between your chronological age, where you are in your life and whether or not you are an ‘adult’. But more importantly, I’ve been thinking about what ‘adult’ actually means. If you Google it, you will be told the biological details of when you stop growing blah blah blah. However, that’s not really what I’m interested in. 

I’d like to offer my own rough definition of what I think an ‘adult’ is:

‘An adult is someone who can take their life experiences, good and bad, and use them to not only help themselves but other people. They respect everyone, no matter how different or similar another person may be. They have the ability to take responsibility of their own actions and most importantly, they understand that they are not the only person in the world. They can see beyond their own bubble’. 

I think that there are many ‘young people’ that would fit the above and also many ‘fully grown adults’ that would not. I think it is of course a matter of perspective and subject to personal opinion. I guess I’d just like to make you think about your assumptions based on age. 

It takes a lot more than a number to establish a person and their potential. 

2 thoughts on “Adulthood

What do you think?

