Digital vs Paper

I suffer from tendinitis in my wrists, which means I struggle to write for long periods of time. Apart from being a pain (no pun intended), it causes great frustration for me academically. You may call me old fashioned, but I like to handwrite my notes, highlight paper and read physical books and feel the pages. But I’ve been forced to join the other side. I purchased an iPad over the summer to bring to lectures etc and I have quite possibly been converted. This is not a review or ad for Apple but I absolutely love it. I do just about EVERYTHING with it. Typing notes, reading acedemic articles and drawing diagrams for my course. Not to mention all the other cool things you can do with the millions of Apps available. The pros of such devices and technologies is that they are often time and space saving. I can’t say whether they are financially beneficial however, as I’m not sure. Especially considering the ridiculous amount of money I recently had to spend on my degree textbooks anyway (but I’ll save that rant for another time).

I have no doubt that the amount of young perople with wrist conditions will increase. I think it is an obvious prediction that all exams will soon be done electronically and all textbooks will eventually be available online to download (fingers crossed at a discounted price!).

Digital is the future it seems, even with many in denial- and I think it’s safe to say, I am no longer one of them.

What do you think?

