The Most Important Thing

This famous quote by John Lennon is often thrown around on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr and so on.

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”

Although arguably overly reposted and shared- I love this quote. For me, the most important thing to achieve in my life, is to be happy.I am sometimes obsessive over grades, my future career, organising, cleaning and other boring rubbish. I’m the first to admit that. We forget about, in the blur of our every day stresses, the bigger picture. The people in our lives are the most important thing. The relationships we have with family, friends, colleagues, partners. Success means nothing if you don’t have people you love around and, supporting you.

Perhaps this is cheesy and a massive cliché. But we do all forget. We lose sight of what’s important. We lose sight of what we’re working so hard for. We forget where our first spark of inspiration came from. I’m basically trying to say that; it’s okay to miss half an hour of work to have a giggle filled phone call with a loved one. Spend the odd day getting lost in a town you don’t know. Burst the bubble of stress and anxiety.

Ditch the obsession with with your diet, job, climbing the social ladder.

Of course work hard and be healthy, but most importantly- be happy.

You deserve a break.

What do you think?

